Heavy Cozy Cowl


As a kid I would sit at “Little Grandma’s” knee and watch her hands fly nimbly through yarn and create beautiful warmth for the ones she loved. If anyone in our family was sick it was great grandma’s afghan where we recuperated. Snowmobiling was wrapped in hats and scarves deftly crafted across her lap. The most valuable clothes were hung on cheap wire hangers made priceless by crocheted yarn scraps – busy work for adept hand and a teaching tool for the great grandchildren. Alice Dujardin Lavens VanGhulewe taught me the chain stitch, then how to turn and build my single crochet on that foundation. I made many pot holders from scraps and even wrapped a few clothes hangers. Then I didn’t touch it again until a few years ago, but I was quickly distracted. This fall though with Christmas approaching and a very limited budget, I picked it up again. And now I see what my Great Grandma did in those projects – providing warmth and comfort to loved ones even when we aren’t around.

imageThis is a pattern I have made four times in the past three months, I FINALLY made one for myself! It works well with a bulky weight yarn and a size M/13 (9mm) crochet hook.

V-stitch: work (dc, sc, dc) in specified st
Puff stitch: (yarn over, insert hook in specified st / sp, yarn over and draw up a loop) twice (5 loops on hook), yarn over and draw through 4 loops on hook, yarn over and draw through last 2 loops on hook

Ch 105

Row1 (right side) V-st in 4th ch from hook (3 skipped chs count as dc), sk next ch, puff st in next ch; *sk next ch, V-st in next ch, sk next ch, puff st in next ch, repeat from * across; dc in last ch

Row2 ch 3 (counts as dc), turn; *v-st in next puff st, puff st in ch-1 sp of v-st; repeat from * across; dc in first skipped ch at beginning of row 1

Row3 ch 3 (counts as dc), turn; *v-st in next puff st, puff st in ch-1 sp of v-st; repeat from * across; dc in 3rd ch of beginning ch 3

Repeat row 3 to desired width, typically I end up with 11 of these rows. This makes it wide enough to provide coverage if someone wears it up over their head.

Joining: with wrong side facing, slip stitch two short edges together.image

Edging: I like a firm edge so I go back and do 2-3 dc in every space on the foundation edge. Slip stitch this together at the seam.

It’s unfortunate that I never got to make something cozy for my great grandma, but I’m very thankful that she shared her warmth with me.

3 thoughts on “Heavy Cozy Cowl

Leave a Reply

