Resolutions


The One about Stephen R. Covey

The One about Stephen R. Covey (Photo credit: kndynt2099)

It’s that time of year when we are blasted with weight loss, stop smoking, and self- improvement. Setting goals for life is an important aspect for many individuals. When I read self improvement articles or books a common suggestion is writing down a list of goals to accomplish along with a timeline and regular assessment schedule. Certainly the incredibly successful individuals who make these recommendations know what they are talking about; Stephen R Covey, Lee Iocca, Marrissa Meyers, Jeff Bezos, Anne Mulcahey, and Warren Buffet. Even the more bohemian type leadership of entrepreneurs such as Steve Jobs, Richard Branson, and Larry Page subscribe to the belief of defined goal lists, with well defined points of measurement, and identified date for completion.

This is an incredible challenge for me as I tend to not focus very well on what I want to accomplish. The primary goal in my life is to maintain, avoid change. As I am trying to master the art of change, maybe this year I should consider who I want to be and what I want to accomplish in my life. Not only that but how do I accomplish these objectives with the resources on hand.

At this point you are expecting an infamous list.  Nope, consider this part of my resolutions – I do not do lists.  I find them pernicious to writing. There is the numbered list, is the author saying these numbers reflect some value or importance? According the “rules” that is the purpose of the numbers. How was this value determined, is it a personal opinion or a relevant evaluation done through scientific measurement and appropriately verified? Then there is the undefined bulleted list. Supposedly utilized to quickly identify aspects, attributes, characteristics that could not otherwise be clarified. OR more commonly used now to highlight information the author didn’t feel like writing into sentences.

So tonight I will contemplate what I would like to change about me this coming year. Maybe I will even come up with one of those outstanding lists of goals that come highly recommended from successful people. There are a few lessons I learned this last year that I will strive to continue. Being kind to myself, sounds so simple, but it is a challenge. Spend less time attaching value to finances and ownership, accepting the worth of skill, knowledge, and deeds not only in myself but in those around me. Surround myself with positives. The people I spend time with are a choice. Do not internalize negatives, focus on statements and actions that enforce my worth. Most importantly LET GO of statements and actions that do not enforce my worth. It is nice to end the year satisfied with the life lived and know that I have the opportunity to continue to improve. Hmm . . . consider that resolution number one for the coming year! And yes, I am using priority numbering.

Leave a Reply

