Owning a TDI


When I purchased my first NEW car I spent a lot of time researching to find the perfect vehicle.  I was traveling almost 80 miles a day and gas prices were going up to $2 a gallon!  The Chevy Malibu was getting around 25 mpg, but I knew I could do better.

Dad discouraged me from getting a Prius.  He was concerned about the longevity of the batteries and the cost for replacing them.  Then he bought a Prius three years later.

JettaA mechanic that I trusted recommended considering a Volkswagon diesel.  He assured me that I could get 300,000 miles from the engine without any issues.  I looked into the Jeta.  The manual transmissions were getting 50 mpg and diesel fuel was not much different in price than gasoline.  But at 50 mpg, the cost of diesel would have to be double the cost of gas before I would be loosing money.  It seemed like safe return on investment.

The biggest problem with owning a diesel was recently highlighted by Audi’s new commercial.  It’s an absolute must watch!   Ahhhh, the drama incurred by pulling out a green diesel nozzle at the gas station.  People have literally yelled across the station, come running out of the store, or given a look as if I’m a total imbecile. Rather than be insulted, its best to smile graciously and say, “It’s okay, it’s a diesel.”   Then be prepared for the barrage of questions.

Love my little 2003 Jetta TDI, still purring along at 187,000+ miles.  Now I only travel about 10 miles round trip every day to work, but I’m still getting 50+ mpg.   I bought it November 23, 2002.  Mom’s friend Tonya Worthen drove me down Byers Imports outside of Columbs in her Special Ed yellow bug.  I drove home in a horrible snow storm terrified I would total my first (and probably only) brand new car.  It is a little rough around the edges now but a purchase I’ve never regretted and it was always humorous to see the reactions at the gas station.

2 thoughts on “Owning a TDI

  1. I remember when you got it and how much trouble you had getting just exactly what you wanted! But you hung in there and got it!! It’s been a good little car for you! You have always been a good shopper!!!! xxoo Mom

Leave a Reply

