Kale Chips


Everyone is talking about the health benefits of kale.  I like it in smoothies, but my favorite way to use it is in soups.  However, I have a horrible craving regularly for something with crunch and salt – my preference would be Garden Tomato Basil  Lays.  However, in the best interest of my health, I have been wanting to try out the kale chip recipe to see if it would satisfy my evening crunch craving.

It isn’t a bad substitute, but I’m pretty certain Lay’s isn’t going to sweat the competition.  However, at 1 point for the ENTIRE recipe, versus 4 points for ONE ONCE of Garden Tomato Basil Lays . . . if you just substitute kale chips 5 out of 7 nights it makes quite the impact.  Lets be honest, it’s all about balancing the things we love with what we want.

IngredientsIMG_0785

Directions

Preheat oven to 400°F

Wash kale and remove tough stems, then tear into pieces.  Pat dry with clean towel and put in a bowl.

Drizzle olive oil over kale and sprinkle on sea salt.  Toss to equally distribute.

Lay kale pieces on baking sheets.  Make sure they don’t touch each other.

Bake until the leaves are crisp. May need to turn sheets.   Best idea is to keep an eye on the sheets – I only bake one at a time and it doesn’t seem like it takes more than 5 minutes before I’m pulling them out.

Leave a Reply

