Coconut Ice Cream Cake


Birthdays should be an event,  age doesn’t matter, what matters is celebrating another year and the opportunity to reflect on accomplishments and disappointments.  Identify opportunities to improve and those true success.  In order to do this properly, I indulge in celebrating my birthday MONTH!  Oh, one other thing I celebrate with food – that would be the reason I had to join Weight Watchers this past January.  I enjoy fabulous food.

This year I have a new job and my boss celebrates birthdays by buying lunch for everyone and we get to eat together.  Typically we also have a birthday desert that someone makes and brings in.  My boss made Coconut Ice Cream cake for my birthday celebration and it was outstanding.  I ate two pieces.  Very thankful I didn’t have the recipe and figure out the points in advance.  OUCH!!!

Ingredients

  • 75 Ritz Crackers
  • 1/4 lb butter
  • 1/2 C milk
  • 2 pgks.  Coconut Cream instant pudding mix
  • 1/2 G vanilla ice cream
  • 9oz Whipped Cream
  • Roasted coconut

Instructions

  1. Take ice cream out of freezer while preparing the crackers to soften it up.
  2. Crush ritz crackers in a ziploc bag.
  3. Pour melted butter over the top of crushed crackers.  Put half of this mixture in the bottom of a 9 x 13 pan.
  4. In mixer blend; milk, instant pudding, and softened ice cream.  Spread this mixture over the crackers in 9×13 pan.
  5. Spread cool whip on top of this mixture and sprinkle with roasted coconut.
  6. Freeze for at least 2 hours before serving.

Makes 12 servings (1/2 the recipe will make an 8×8 pan).  Each serving is 14 points in Weight Watchers so if you are craving ice cream cake I recommend doing a lot of extra activity points before making this!  I always use skim milk and a butter substitute, but you could also utilize low fat/sugar free ice cream, whip cream, and/or pudding to lighten up those points a little.

I’m thinking about trying some alternatives like a Chunky Monkey version using pretzels rather than Ritz crackers, banana pudding instead of coconut, and chocolate cool whip.  Might even try stirring in some chocolate sauce to the ice cream to give it a little kick.   Another option might be using chocolate pudding and drizzling in caramel or peanut butter.   This should be a fun recipe to play around with – let me know if you try any new concoctions.

Leave a Reply

