Quick Garlic Chicken


Working full time and trying to maintain positive weight choices while doing all the necessary work around the farm/home can get a little overwhelming.  It would be wonderful to come in and cook every night from scratch so that I would have complete control of what I’m eating.  However, in my reality, there are times I’m not coming in to begin cooking dinner until 7pm or later.  By then, I’m HUNGRY and it is at this moment that making bad decisions about dinner typically occurs.garlic chicken

Typically I avoid packaged foods because with high blood pressure, the sodium content in processed foods is just too high.  But in the evenings when I am trying to put something together quickly, these packaged options can be a real blessing.  But to stay within the serving, make a substantial meal, and not add negatives to my daily input, I’ve learned to add some extras to the processed foods.

A 1/2 c of cooked Garlic Chicken is 4 points.  That’s not much of a meal.   So, in order to make this work better for me, I add a large bag of frozen vegetables.  My favorite vegetables are cauliflower, brocolli, and squash.  This bumps the serving size up to 1 – 1/2 cups.  It does make it feel a little more fulfilling then.   This last week I added in a can of southwestern bean salad (black beans, pinto beans, hominy, corn).  This can of beans added a lot of fabulous flavor and really gave a boost making this 1- 1/2 cups of food a fulfilling meal.   For even more fulfilling, serve this over 2 cups of lettuce.  It is an amazing meal and will help keep those evening hunger pains away.   Oh, and your 1 1/2 c serving, is only 4 points even with the beans and lettuce.  If you serve it over lettuce, you are getting 3 servings of vegetables.

If any of you have suggestions on how to make fast meals

Leave a Reply

