Hot, hot, hot


Summer has decided to arrive.  BLAH!  I’m ready for it to be over now, two or three days of this is plenty for a year or two.  The critters are wilting and so am I, but at least I get to enjoy the air conditioning at work during the day.  thermometer

We have a little air conditioner in our living area, but it is 18 years old and I’m pretty certain that it isn’t overly efficient.  I try to use it as little as possible.  In fact, whenever I think it is getting too hot in the house, I go outside and do some chores – it’s AMAZING how cool the house feels after that.  Mostly I rely on the old fashioned AC.  Shut all the windows in the morning and close the blinds to keep the sun out.  In the evening after the sun goes down, open the windows and use fans to pull all the air you can into the house.  If the humidity is high, I will turn on the AC for a little while to get the moisture out of the air.

The critters however, just hang out in the shade as much as possible.  The corn right now is tall enough to provide some shade.  Unfortunately, it also stops some of the breeze so the chickens are hanging out around the bushes and creating holes where they wallow in the cool dirt they dig up.  The neighbor’s outdoor cat is very appreciative of these holes as well.  With this heat a little extra cooling power goes a long way.  I read once about people freezing water bottles and putting them out for their hens.  The article suggested using 2 liter bottles, but I have a small freezer so I have 12 – 12oz bottles.  Before I go to work, I sit out 6 bottles for the girls.  In the evening when I get home (or at lunch if it’s REALLY hot), I give them 6 fresh frozen bottles and bring in the first set of bottles.  I rinse off the outside and put them back in the freezer for the next morning.  At night when I lock up the coop, I pick up the other 6 bottles, rinse those off and put those in the freezer for the next day.  Once the hens figured out the bottles weren’t going to eat them – they loved their AC system.

Now if only I could figure out how to create a frozen block that I could put in front of the horse’s fan.  Hmmm . . . actually, that would work PERFECTLY for us in the house too if I could figure it out.  Definitely going to need a larger freezer!

Leave a Reply

