Mexican Black Bean and Hominy Salad


This recipe was in Weight Watcher’s weekly handout.   It looks incredibly yummy and I think most of these ingredients are in my cupboard.  The focus for this week was power foods.  You know, the stuff that fills you up and keeps you full longer.  There’s a challenge I seem to have all the time – something that not only fills me up, but keeps me full.  Then there is of course the other challenge – it has to taste outstanding and satisfy my cravings.

This would be an awesome dish to take to family gatherings this summer that you 1. don’t have to worry about temperature and 2. could help you manage your points.  It does taste even better the next day as everything sits and marinates.  I took pork off the grill and cut 3 ounces of the meet up in with my 3/4 cup serving this made BOTH of the servings more satisfying.  This was equally wonderful with grilled turkey breasts.

Ingredientsblackbeansalad

15 oz can black beans, drain and rinse

15 oz can hominy, drain and rinse

1 c grape tomatoes, cut in half

1 small yellow pepper, dice

1/2 small red onion, dice (left this out, I can’t eat onions)

1/3 c cilantro, chopped

1 medium jalapeno, seeded and minced (left this out too)

2 T lime juice

1 tsp honey

1 tsp extra virgin olive oil

1/4 tsp cumin

1/4 tsp sea salt

I added some additional veggies to make up for the ones I left out and to take care of what I had in the garden.

1/2 c banana peppers, diced (I added this to replace onions and jalapeno)

1 small red and green pepper, diced

Instructions

In a medium bowl, combine beans, hominy, tomatoes, peppers, onion, cilantro, jalapeno.

In a small bowl whisk together lime juice, honey, oil, cumin, and salt.  Pour this over the bean mixture and toss well to combine.

Servings = 3/4 cup, makes about 6 servings, each serving = 3 points

Leave a Reply

