Stuffed Mushrooms


Big challenge every night after work and chores – what should I eat for dinner.  I have been doing Weight Watchers since January and am within 6# of my 10% goal.   Certainly don’t want to blow my day of point counting and activity by eating a crummy dinner.  But the fridge tends to be pretty sparse and I’m typically tired.   I would love to just have something quick and easy.

Tonight I contemplated an omelet.  I had sausage, fresh mushrooms and an assortment of shredded cheeses.  With chickens on the property, there are ALWAYS eggs.  Well, almost always – occasionally the friends/ neighbors wipe me out.  But every morning I have microwaved scrambled eggs and it sounded like a bit much to have omelets for dinner.

As I was washing the mushrooms I came up with the idea to make stuffed mushrooms and threw in some fresh cut asparagus from the garden just for some extra greens.   I had 12 over-stuffed mushroom caps for dinner and these were 19 points.   If you wanted to serve these as a side or appetizer – 3 mushrooms would be 5 points. 2013-05-13 18.47.34

  • 1/2 c shredded cheddar
  • 1 egg
  • 1/2 c ground sausage
  • 1/2 c asparagus diced small

Blend the items above together

  • Cleaned mushroom tops (I used the little morels that were on sale, 2 cups had 12 tops)

Fill the mushrooms with the blended mixture.  I placed the stuffed mushrooms in my cast iron skillet.  Sprinkle lightly with some sea salt to taste.  Put them in a 350 oven for 25 minutes.

Take them out after this and turn on the broiler.  Before putting the mushrooms back in the oven, sprinkle the 1/4 c of shredded mozzarella on top.  I put them under the broiler for 10 minutes.2013-05-13 19.20.22

Leave a Reply

