Fermented Chicken Feed


I have been reading some of the most interesting articles on feeding chickens.  They are discussing the benefits of feeding chickens fermented feed.  This is actually taking your layer crumbles, scratch grains, and kitchen waste and allowing them to ferment for several days before providing them to the chickens.fermentedfeed

There are numerous benefits for both the health of the birds and for improved eggs and meat.   The Scratch Cradle has some fantastic documentation about how to set up for fermentation.  I’m not real excited about having this in my extremely small living area so I think I’m going to try and set it up out in the barn.  If that doesn’t work, I’ll try it out on the back porch – that has heat, but I can separate it from the living space.

This all started because of an article in my weekly email from Community Chicken about the benefits of fermenting chicken feed.  I get a weekly email and I would highly recommend it to anyone who is interested in backyard chickens.  Some of the articles are a little fluffy for the more advanced poultry producer, but for the majority of us; discussions about different breeds, acclimation of new birds, cost effective water systems, and feeding are beneficial.  Really appreciate that so many people are out there willing to share their learning experience.  Hope some of you will try this, or if you have, let me know what worked for you and what didn’t!

Leave a Reply

