Keeping it Light


So my latest change has been working adopting healthier eating and exercise habits.  Rather than just try to make it work on my own, I joined Weight Watchers the first of the year.  I love their online tools for keeping track, but I have to admit the all-time favorite tool is the Recipe Builder.  Literally you can put in ingredients, identify the number of servings, and then identify how many points you are using for that item.  For those of us who love to cook, it’s a great way to help us keep track.

Today, I got hungry for Spinach Pie.  I have been trying to really focus on increasing my vegetables the past couple of weeks.  Even made cauliflower mash to serve with several of my meals.  One of the things I had heard wonderful reviews about is Kale.  I have been adding it to smoothies (pretty good way to hide your veggies), soups, sauteed it as a side, etc.  So since I have some Kale in the house, I decided to substitute that for spinach.  It actually has a richer consistency, doesn’t get as soft and wilty as spinach – love it.  So if you are interested in upping your greens, try out this recipe.2013-01-28 17.19.50

  • 3 C Kale
  • 2T Olive Oil
  • 1 C Feta cheese, reduced fat if you can find it
  • 1 C Cottage cheese, low-fat
  • 1/4 C lemon juice
  • 4 cloves of roasted garlic
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 2 pie crusts, ready to bake/frozen or from scratch

Saute the kale in olive oil.  Combine kale, leftover olive oil from pan, feta, cottage cheese, lemon juice, garlic, and salt in the food process and blend into a paste.

Place this mixture in the refrigerator for at least 20 minutes.

Cut each pie crust into 4 sections (will have 8 sections total).

Place 1/3 C of mixture on each section.

Fold crust around mixture and pinch the edges closed.

Place on baking sheet in the oven at 350 for at least 35 minutes or until crust turns golden brown.

Leftovers can be frozen.  Makes for a great meal to take to take to work.  If you are Weight Watchers follower – each serving is 8 points.  I’m going to work with different ways to make this, thinking if use wonton wrappers in cupcake pans this would reduce the breading and reduce my points.  I’ll let everyone know when I come up with a solution.

Leave a Reply

