Summer Beer or Lemonade with a Kick


I don’t drink beer.  Not ever.  Even on a broiling hot day when they are ice cold right out of the refrigerator.  I’d rather eat the ice from a cooler than drink a beer.   So when a good friend of mine told me she had a new summer beverage for me to try called Summer Beer – I was EXTREMELY skeptical.   She assured me as a non-beer drinker, that it was worth a try.  When she gave me the ingredients I was even more skeptical.

  • 4 cans Bud Light
  • 12 oz frozen lemonade
  • 12 oz Vodka

I don’t think what kind of beer matters, but since I’m not a beer drinker, probably not the right person to ask.  My friend told me to use Bud Light, so that was what I got.   There was no way I was trying this out solo, so I waited for a good quiet neighborhood weekend.  When sharing it with my friends, I refused to divulge what was in it or what it was called, for fear that like me they would be very hesitant to try it.  Everyone loved it!

The beer was cold from the fridge (no sense serving a refreshing beverage room temp on this side of the Big Pond.)   Poured all 4 into a large pitcher, added the frozen lemonade into the pitcher.   Then I used the lemonade container to measure the vodka and added that to the pitcher as well.  Stirred this concoction together using a spoon to make certain the frozen lemonade wasn’t in clumps.  Finally, served this over ice.

It was 98 degrees and muggy out the evening I served this and several pitchers were dispensed VERY quickly.  This beverage goes down too easily and tastes like lemonade, not beer.  It was wonderful.

I am a drinker with writing problems. Brendan Behan

Leave a Reply

