Grammy Glasses


Change is not something I do well.  I continue to work on it, but it is still something I struggle with.  A few weeks ago, it seemed that it was getting to be more of a challenge to read . . .  well everything.  Suddenly it seemed to take my eyes time to adjust to read my phone and often it required me moving the phone to help me see it better.  Books had to be held very carefully and a particular position or my focus would be off and I would have to wait a little bit until my eyes got accustomed to the new position before I could continue to read.   Newspapers were particularly challenging.  At the top and far away, not too horrible.  That center section in the middle hold it out a little more.  Down at the bottom – you have to be kidding, why would anyone make print so small!

Finally I had enough so I went to the eye doctor.   My lasik surgery had been done 12 years ago.  I was certain it was finally giving out on me and now I would be stuck wearing glasses again.  Not what I wanted to hear.  Even worse, I was concerned I would have to adjust to bifocals.  Uggggghhhhhhhh  .  .  .  nothing worse than turning into the old people.   The eye doctor told me that considering my age, I was right in line with the typically prescribed lenses for presbyopia as originally diagnosed by Franciscus Donders over 100 years ago.

It was a big relief to hear that my near-sighted vision was still perfect so there would be no need for glasses 24/7.   Only need for glasses was when I am reading and working on the computer.   Hmmmmm . . . well other than sleeping and driving – that seems to be most waking moments of my life.  There was no way I was settling for granny glasses.

Today I picked up my new cheater glasses.  I couldn’t believe the gorgeous alternatives they had.  When I got back to the office I put my glasses on to see how much of a difference they made.   WOW, I had no idea how hard I had been working to read my computer and iPhone.  Not only do I enjoy being able to see so clearly now (the rain is gone), but I make getting old look pretty good.

Leave a Reply

