Lesson of HEAVY bales


OMG – had a lesson on “heavy” bales this weekend!

Auntie Neighbor recommended that I call a guy about 10 minutes away to see if he had hay to sell. So Hay Guy isn’t going to have any extra, but offered to sell me some to get me through until I can find a supply. I probably have enough in the barn to get me through until this summer, but I thought it wouldn’t be a bad idea to get a few extra to make CERTAIN. So I stripped and bleached Hat’s stall on Sunday, spread manure, then moved hay around to make room for the 20 new bales coming in.

So I call Hay Guy after I finish all this stuff. Go over to his place and then follow him around the corner to his folk’s where the hay is kept. His daughter jumps in the van with me (because she LOVES DOGS) at their house. I have no idea what the kids name is, but doesn’t matter because she is talking non-stop for the entire 6 minute drive. AND more importantly, loving on Dudley and Op. She has never seen a greyhound. BTW – she LOVES horses, but made a deal with her Dad last year for her birthday to get an ATV rather than a horse, I told her that was a bad trade – she may never get that opportunity again. She told me she has another birthday coming up so she is going to start working on him. This is a general synopsis and flow of that 6 minute conversation. Those of you with teenage daughters can relate.

We get there and it’s about a 50yd walk from where Hay Guy is dropping bales to the trailer, and no it is not possible to get closer. Hay Guy drops bales from the loft, Babble Child rolls them toward the door, and I carry them to the trailer. After lifting the first one I thought maybe it was a little wet, but when I got outside I could see it wasn’t. I get the second one, OMG – apparently he bales with a cement mix blend. By the time I had 14 loaded on the trailer, I had to stop and work on my breathing a little bit. Hay Guy was only 3 bales ahead of me, so I caught up while we discussed how many more bales I wanted. And we discussed the cement mix / rock blend he was using when baling. I paid $4/ bale, but considering the weight was almost double the bales I paid $3.50 for last year – I think I got off cheap.

Oh, when we were finishing up, the Babble Child told me she was coming to help me unload so she could see the horse – her Dad had told her it was okay. Hay Guy said he would come by and pick her up in 30 minutes. He took off and I forgot to pay him, but I figured I had his child so he’d get his money. Then I began to wonder if my charge for the hay bales was taking Babble Child for a while – LOL! I said that to Hay Guy when he showed to pick her up and he thought that sounded like a good deal, although her Mom might have an issue. Babble Child loved Hat – we went to the pasture first – wanted to make sure she had some time to pet and love on Hat before her Dad showed. Figured I could unload bales a few at a time all night. When we were coming back from the pasture – there were my beloved neighbors unloading the trailer and stacking hay for me! WOW They almost had it done (so we walked slower, hehehehe.)

Told Mom about it and said to her where else could I live where someone –
1. would sell you hay to help you get through even though they might be short
2. drive off without getting paid for the product they had just loaded and you were taking home
3. let their YOUNG kid jump in a car with a total stranger and go to their home
Mom said you know that would never happen in Toledo (although I think most horse people would be willing to share hay), I told Mom I was pretty sure it wouldn’t happen in Bryan. Although Hay Guy was a little stingy – I tried to get him to swap me GMC’s and he wouldn’t do that. He has a new, fully loaded, full-size GMC truck and I have a 1997 full sized, loaded, V8 GMC Savannah van. DANG!

BTW – I’ve lost 4lbs in the last week, think most of it was yesterday afternoon.

One thought on “Lesson of HEAVY bales

  1. Pingback: Elf’in help? « Life After Reboot

Leave a Reply

