The other shoe falls


I bet you have heard the saying “waiting for the other shoe to fall.” Usually it is in reference to something bad that is going to happen. A reaction to something that has already occurred. When I did some research on this, I found a song by Tom T. Hall with this title. Since it’s almost impossible to get hands on actual free music all I can offer you is the lyrics if you would like to go check them out : www.metrolyrics.com

There is always someone out there willing to offer the background for any word or phrase, one of the blessings and curses of the internet. It seems this particular phrase may come from vaudeville. A gentleman comes back to the boarding house late one night somewhat worse for wear. While getting ready for bed he drops his shoe, then remembers his fellow house guests and quietly sits the other shoe under the bed. As he is getting into bed one of the roommates yells, “drop the other shoe already so I can go to sleep.” Check it out for your self at www.worldwidewords.org

This weekend was that other shoe for me. Dad passed away February 21, 2011 at 1355. Per his request he was cremated and this past weekend was our memorial service for him. Every year our family has a large celebration the 2nd weekend in October that we call “Fall on the Farm.” It’s just a good time and an opportunity to spend time with friends and family. My Dad was always in his glory sharing our beloved family farm with friends and relatives.

The weather was an unseasonal 82 degrees, sunny, and a light breeze. Friends and family came in from everywhere to spend time with us. There were close to 250 people in attendance. The Air Force sent an honor guard to raise the flag on our new flag pole and present Mom with another flag. Bugles Across America sent a volunteer to play taps. We said the Pledge of Allegiance, shared stories, watched DVD’s that friends had made, laughed about the memorabilia, spread Dad’s ashes across the duck pond after his last ride in the Jeep, and had a wonderful day.

I laid in bed and couldn’t stop crying. I think that is the most I’ve cried since my divorce. The other shoe had fallen. There is nothing left to do. He is gone and no matter how hard I try, I won’t be getting him back. It might be better for him, but it certainly doesn’t feel better for me. I put some of his ashes in a special place in the woods that he and I always liked to hang out at so I can go back and chat with him anytime. But there will be no more wet willies, shit-eating grins, squawking for Cadbury eggs, or even him fighting when I don’t do what I’m told. He made such a big impression on so many lives, but for me he was just Dad – always present, always opinionated, and always loving.

3 thoughts on “The other shoe falls

  1. Pingback: Elf’in help? « Life After Reboot

Leave a Reply

