Chocolate Pavlova


Okay, here is a great way to use up those wonderful fall raspberries and the gazillion eggs in the fridge!

I followed this general recipe for making the Pavlova.

http://simplyrecipes.com/recipes/pavlova/

Ingredients

Meringue:

  • 1 1/2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 1/2 teaspoon cream of tartar OR 2 teaspoons white wine vinegar OR distilled white vinegar
  • 1 1/2 Tbsp cornstarch
  • 1 1/2 cups granulated sugar
  • 3/4 cup (6 ounces, about 6) large egg whites, preferably room temperature
  • Pinch salt

Topping:

  • 2 pints fresh or frozen berries
  • 1/4 cup sugar
  • Whipped Cream for topping

Then added (to make a chocolate Pavlova):

3 T of Dutch processed cocoa powder

I blended the cocoa powder in with the sugar so it went smoothly throughout the meringue.

She has fabulous instructions for making your meringue, including exactly what temperature to have your egg whites and equipment.  I thought that was very interesting because my grandmother always put the egg whites, bowl, and beaters in the freezer to chill them before she made meringue for her pies.  This recipe tells you to properly beat the egg whites to have them at room temperature.  The recipe turned out wonderful.  I didn’t have any whipped cream, but I did have raspberries that I had picked fresh from the garden and sprinkled with a little bit of sugar.  The chickens had gotten so many of them that I barely had enough for the topping.  I am going to make this again for my mother and her neighbor this weekend.  I also just found a recipe for chocolate angel food cake!  Haven’t had that in YEARS!

One thought on “Chocolate Pavlova

Leave a Reply

